Lessons from Minimalism: Gratitude

“In ordinary life, we hardly realize that we receive a great deal more than we give, and that it is only with gratitude that life becomes rich.” Dietrich Bonhoeffer

Decluttering requires self-reflection. After my second, third, and fourth trips to goodwill,  I knew something was wrong. How did I accumulate so much stuff? Why was I hoarding it all?

This process of discarding, selling, and donating helped me to be immensely grateful for having been blessed far beyond my needs.

So many people in this world are not living in abundance. Not everyone even has their basic needs of food, water, clothing and shelter met. I and my family have abdundance. Even in my minimalist-ish home I still have abdundance, and I don’t want to take that for granted.

Minimalism has taught me to be grateful for the things I already have and to be careful not to buy things I don’t really need or want. If I find that I want something, that is not a need, I wait a few weeks. Often times after a few weeks I don’t even remember what it was I had wanted in the first place.

Until next time,

Anna

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Brian says:

    Great post. Gratitude is so important, and so often overlooked!

    Like

  2. I love the quote you included at the top!

    Like

  3. Me too! Such a great quote!

    Like

Leave a Reply

