Lessons from Minimalism: Don’t Let Stuff Own You

It is preoccupation with possessions, more than anything else, that prevents us from living freely and nobly.” – Bertrand Russell

In my 27 years God has stretched and tested me in many different ways. I have had times with little testing and times with much testing. Since becoming a mother It has felt like being in a constant state of learning and growing.

Sometimes, It feels like cleaning a gigantic gymnasium. When I get one small corner cleaned, God shows me another area that needs scrubbing.

Transitioning to motherhood was far more exhausting than I expected it to be. From the outside I was doing everything from soap to sewing. It looked like I had it all together, but inside I was falling apart.

In trying to do and be everything to everyone, I was burning myself out. Before long, simple daily tasks seemed difficult, and I started living for bedtime, rest, and sleep.

Enter minimalism: friends of mine started talking more and more about decluttering and paring things down. It sounded like a good idea. So, I started. It was a slow start: tupperware, baby clothes, and my childhood trinkets.

Before long I was feeling happier, more joyful, and less stressed. I was actually enjoying my family and my home. I realized It wasn’t my family or my home that had been exhausting me. It was all the stuff I didn’t need.

We sold, trashed, or donated 70% of our things. The pasta maker, my china, end tables, coffee tables, an extra set of couches, china hutch, buffet, a dresser, lamps, 90% of my clothing, kids toys, unused bathroom items, extra kitchen tools, books, the tv, a broken washer, a broken computer, and the list goes on….

I cleared my counter tops and took down over half the wall hangings. I stopped making soap, yogurt, and anything that didn’t bring me joy. I started telling people no and guarding my time.

It felt like having shackles taken off, and I never want to go back.

Since decluttering I have been focusing on being Intentional with my husband, my children, and my life. I still have a long way to go, but I am thankful to be a work In progress.

Until next time,

Anna

2 Comments Add yours

  1. reynoldsmade says:

    Inspiring post! ☺ Good luck with your journey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

