Lessons From Minimalism: Time is Valuable

“I recommend you take care of the minutes and the hours will take care of themselves.” – Earl of Chesterfield

We live in a society that does not value time. Those around us often feel the need to fill the holes in our schedule, as if having time home with no plans is a problem that needs to be fixed.

I used to feel guilty telling people no or not volunteering more, but the truth is that I did not quit my day job to be a full time volunteer. I quit because my husband and I felt me being home was best for our family. If I would always be running and doing I wouldn’t really be home.

Time is precious. There is only 24 hours in a day. Nothing we do can change that. I used to try to jam pack my day. It seemed that the faster I went the faster those 24 hours went.

I was home with my children, but I had fallen for the lie that my life wasn’t valuable unless I was “busy”. So, I filled my time with sewing and soap making. I wasted hours on-line. I spent enormous amounts of time cleaning, doing laundry, doing dishes, and dealing with cloth diapers. I tried making lotion, tooth paste, and shampoo. All of this busyness left me feeling exausted, overwhelmed, and inadequate.

It wasn’t until I started to really pursue simple living that I gained the time and energy to focus on what was most important to me.

Maintaining my home was no longer a burden. I started playing the piano again. Reading the Bible and exercising no longer seemed like chores. I actually enjoyed cooking again. I had the time and energy to build snowmen and snowforts with my kids. I was no longer too exausted at the end of the day for my husband.

Minimalism doesn’t make life perfect. I still have struggles, everyone does. However, It is a lot easier to face the troubles of life when we haven’t packed our lives with what is unnecessary.

Until next time,

Anna

Leave a Reply

