Don’t be too Busy for Life

Hello all,

Reciently, I started using Facebook again for the purpose of keeping up with people I don’t regularly see. I’m not on there often. The last time I was on a particular comment stuck out to me.

It went something like this, “I don’t know what I will do with all my free time once x happens.”

A friend responded to her like this, “You won’t have any free time. You think you are going to but then it never happens.”

It never happens….

“Things which matter most must never be at the mercy of things which matter least.” – Goethe

We all have times in our lives where life gets crazy and it seems like too much. Those times should be the exception, not the norm.

From my experience most of things we are busy about are voluntary.  We choose to fill our lives to the brim and then complain that our lives are too full.

I don’t want to live my life striving for the finish line. Life isn’t a bandaid or a shot. We shouldn’t be trying to just get through it. We should be living this life with purpose and focus.

If you volunteer for everything at church, the fire department, ems squad, girl scouts, the local soup kitchen, work full time, have a family, run kids to activities, and have hobbies your purpose gets out of focus. When you do everything, you might as well do nothing. You are far better off doing a few things well, than many things poorly.

We need to ask ourselves, “What is the purpose of my life? Is what I am doing actually furthering that purpose or is It distracting me from it?”

“To do two things at once is to do neither” – Publilius Syrus

Anna –

 

Leave a Reply

