Life is Short: Spend it Where it Matters

“Tomorrow is not promised, and today is short.” ~ unknown

It has been a difficult few months.

My husband has had a lot of turmoil at his job. We have had strained relationships with extended family. In July I miscarried and it rocked me emotionally. In August I found out I was expecting again and being pregnant so soon after miscarriage has been harder than I ever imagined it would be. In September I found out I had a 9cm ovarian cyst that required follow up to confirm than it wasn’t cancer, thankfully it was not.

I feel wrung out, tired, and spend. In all of this, I have learned something very valuable.

Life is short: spend it where it matters.

I have waisted so much time!

  • I have tried to make people like me who never liked me and never will.
  • I have walked on egg shells trying not to upset someone and had them get upset anyway.
  • I have gone out of my way, bent over backwards, and had it not be enough.
  • I have worried myself sick trying to solve problems I can’t solve.

The worst of it?

That time and energy should have been spent on people and things that actually mattered. That time is gone, I can’t get it back.

It doesn’t have to continue like this!

I can move forward from here and put my time and energy where it counts.

How about you?

I’d love to hear from you. What has it taken for you to learn to spend your short life where it matters? What did you do to help make the changes that needed to be made in your life?

Anna

 

Leave a Reply

